Philosophy’s Problems with Writing

I was very confused in our previous reading with the fact that Socrates found trouble with the art of writing. Socrates one of the greatest minds of all time did not believe writing was a crucial form of knowledge. He believed mainly that it weakened ones memory. This strikes me as peculiar because not only myself but many scientists find that memory is actually improved thanks to writing. For example, one who takes proper notes on a subject is more likely to remember the contents of the notes. I take this idea very seriously in my studies, so much that I refuse to take notes on a computer and can only handwrite them. When I handwrite them I am later able to recall in my mind what page they were on and what color(if used) I highlighted them with. This would not be the case if I just tried to memorize a oral lecture without notes or if I took mundane ones on a computer that all looked the same. While there are many other cases that Socrates gives for his dispel of writing (which I also do not agree with) the idea that writing ruins a person’s memory is completely false.

 

 I will end my rant/ thoughts with this collection of quoted photos I found from the movie “The Book Thief.” I think it sums up the beauty and importance of writing quite well.

ImageImage

 

ImageImage

One thought on “Philosophy’s Problems with Writing

  1. Thanks for this post here, Jenna
    You raise many great points here about the VALUE of writing, in opposition to Socrates. I also really like your gif here!
    MC

Leave a Reply

